JOB BAM JOB

The Job BAM job.

Lately I have been reading Job. “He is massively ignorant,” says my friend Marc* as he reflects on the latter chapters of Job. In my wealth of information, folk wisdom, and fountains of cultural insights put forth here, I am massively ignorant. (I’m not sure I really believe that; I am an erratic practitioner of this truth.) This does not mean, as Marc points out, that we should not work at learning.bam PIC job bam job

Thus, these two – (1) you as a learner garnering skill and (2) you as mere/humble man walking about – if you have them, will serve you well in business and culture.

Here I am arguing that we are not God, which, considering me, may be more obvious to you than it is to me when I think about myself. (There is some analogy to culture here, an analogy to our ethnocentrism and our blindness to Other cultures as we enter them: That is, that I am so “me-centric” that when I consider God, I myself am more under consideration and “I am” the presupposing basis for wisdom, judgment, righteous behavior, etc. – so I distort Who He is.)

bam PIC3 jobbamjob icebergNow consider The Iceberg of Cultural Ignorance (ICI). It is like unto The Iceberg of Business Ignorance (IBI). Our comprehension is 10%. Our capabilities for efficient engagement and achieving anticipated results are – well, you know all about this if you are in business – either limited or arrogantly inflated (maybe both).

They say Job was the first written of the biblical books. In some sense it is the beginning bookend. (Revelation, the other bookend, is one simple summative picture of the end, where “God wins.”) Job is one simple summative picture of the beginning, where God is, knows, and is willing to talk to man, but is massively God.

So, go, be a good BAMer.
It is a high and demanding calling where you make many sacrifices.

But you need a lot of help because, pardon me, you are “massively ignorant.” Help in terms of:

  • business acumen and counselors
  • cultural skill (advocated here, but rarely elsewhere – Is that true?)
  • a Savior because — You were dead in the trespasses and sins in which you once walked . . . [now you] are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for [you] to do. But today you need and have Christ [to] dwell in your hearts through faith—so that you, being rooted and grounded in love, may have strength.

Finite like Job, living in a world of suffering, we walk with One who understands.
We are not alone in the BAM job.

 

* http://www.newlifeglenside.com/audio/S160731.mp3

 

About rbuddglobal

Developing BAM Cross-Cultural so that Business As Mission is skilled culturally. Alongside insightful West African leaders who train workers to be carefully cross-cultural as they go making disciples. Engaging work and research inside cultures, American education systems, mission agencies. Towards learning, teaching, communicating, being anthropological and being with others to make disciples for Jesus who lives. Via UPenn, UMd, West LondonUK, AccraGhana, PortlandOR, TrentonNJ, PhilaPA,TowsonMD.
This entry was posted in BAM Disciple-making and Vision and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

PLEASE COMMENT

